top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElyse Ramsey

The End is Near


I had a hard time starting this. It wasn’t because I didn’t want to, but it was because how do you tell the people that have given you everything, that you appreciate them with one blog post? I can’t put into words what you two have done for me. But, I am going to try and do my best.

First of all, thank you for setting great examples of where I want to be in life. I am very lucky to have parents like you that have stable jobs and aren’t afraid to work hard. I never had to wonder “will my parents be able to afford this art project I want to do?” because your answers were always “of course!” I am extremely grateful for every art project, volleyball camp, “first day of school outfits”, etc. you bought me! Without having hard working parents like you, I am not sure that I would have been able to go to Smoky Valley High School. Not everyone can just pick up everything and move and support their kid. I will never forget how you guys did that for me. I am very glad that I decided to move schools, and I could have never done it without your help.

Thank you for never letting me feel down on myself. As you both know, I can be hard on myself sometimes. I am a perfectionist and like to be organized. I have enjoyed getting to organize the house and I know that you both will miss that when I am in Manhattan. It is hard to believe that after all of these years, someone else may have to organize that crazy medicine closet. Anyway, thank you for teaching me that getting help for my anxiety wasn’t a bad thing. I don’t think that I would have gone to therapy without your support and help. I am glad that I have had supportive parents like you who knew that I needed some direction and advice. My anxiety has taught me that I enjoy being with people that always make me feel safe and at ease. I will miss having you two there to be that feeling for me, but now that I may need to call you sometimes to help me talk through different situations.

I never understood how the feeling of the end of senior year would really feel. But, it is here and I can say it is a new feeling. I am so excited for what is to come, but sad for what I have to leave behind. Leaving Smoky Valley High School will be sad, but I mostly will miss the people I am saying goodbye to. My friends and teachers will be hard to say goodbye to, but most importantly you two. It is evident that as I started writing this that I could go one forever about what I am most thankful about.

I will miss all of our spontaneous Sonic runs, Target stops, Chic Fil A dates, and movie nights. I can honestly say that you two are some of my best friends. I would much rather stay in with my mom, dad and Jon than go out and hang out with my friends and participate in the activities that they choose to do. I anticipate surprising you one weekend with Varsity Donuts saying “Let’s eat all of these while we play cards tonight!” and you will be shocked and so excited. I cannot wait to come home and surprise you like that, if I can keep it a secret of course.

Thank you for supporting all of my Cricut projects and ideas. It would have been easy to not spend $300 for a project that I was interested in starting. But, I am so glad I asked because it has became one of my favorite things to do. Without your help with purchasing the machine, I would have never been able to figure out that I loved doing t-shirts, gifts, cups, etc. It brings me confidence and joy to know that I am able to do projects like that.

This past year with COVID-19 has been a very tough time. We have been able to spend a lot of time together and make the most out of what we were able to do. I really appreciate how you took the needed precautions and kept our family safe. I know that I felt safe because I knew you two were doing the right thing.

I will surely miss all of our late-night ping pong tournaments and fights. I know Jon and I both have really enjoyed playing ping pong. We will have to plan for some tournaments or something fun once in a while.

Well, I guess the time has come for us to realize that in order for me to grow up and fulfill my dreams, college is the next step. While this may be hard to realize, I want to finish this post by stating some of my favorite memories growing up. The first memory that I can think of is our trip to Tennessee. That is the most recent trip that we have taken but it was so fun. I enjoyed getting to go see the Stover family as well as eat a lot of food and just mess around.

Another favorite memory that I have is going to the USA Olympic Volleyball games. This experience was once in a lifetime, especially when I was able to catch that shoe. I will never forget that short but very interesting trip. The third favorite memory I have is going to Oakley for Christmases. As I have gotten older, I have realized even more how special moments like those are. We won’t have our family forever so getting to go out there and visit is always nice. Another memory that I have is traveling to San Diego, California. I really like when I get to go on trips with you two. It is always fun getting to spend time with mom during the day, and then with dad and mom at night. I appreciate all that you guys do so that I am able to go on the trips with you. I am very thankful for all of the opportunities that you have been able to provide me. One last memory that I will share is this last volleyball season. It felt incredible to have your support behind me. I know that being a coach isn’t easy for any of us in the family, but I really appreciate that mom did that. I really enjoyed having you guys be there for me with everything that I needed.

Lastly, thank you for just being you. I know that neither of you could have ever imagined not being an involved and supportive parent, and that means the world to me. Not only have you been there every step of the way, but you have also given me the courage and strength to continue life on my own. It will be very different without you two there with me, but I know that I can do it because I had amazing parents like you who have prepared me for this moment. Thank you, and just remember, I am always one call or Face Time away.

Love, Elyse


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page