top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElyse Ramsey

State. State. State. Hey, did you know we got second at state?

It gives me chills to think about these past few weeks. After winning sub state, we knew that there was some unfinished business left. I think that the parents said it best on Facebook, that there were no people more deserving than our team to make it to state. We have worked so hard and put aside a lot of drama in order for our team to succeed. And, especially this year, we had to put aside the fear and worry about our season being taken away, and just compete. Our coaches often made comments like "This could be your last game, we never know with COVID, so I hope you give it your all and work like you have nothing left to give," and they often empowered us. As everything had been this past season, state attendance was cut down. This was one of the hardest moments of the season for me. Telling people who were important in my life that I didn't have enough tickets for them brought tears. These emotions no athlete should ever have to go through. And, I am pretty sure all of my teammates parents including mine, would say that they would have wished to take these struggles away from us in a heartbeat. But, since that wasn't an option, we had to embrace what we were given. My grandparents had decided that after missing every game this season, they couldn't stand to miss state. They were masked up and made sure to social distance while in the arena. My cousins Shane and Makenzie from Garden City even made the trip to Hutchinson to support my team and I. My Aunt Jada from Kansas City also made the long drive. Even though I know that there were many people who were there in spirit, I was so grateful for those who also were gracious enough to make the drive to support.


It was a memorable day to say the least. We made it through pool play and then made our way into the championship game. Each point that was closer to the championship brought hope. But, there just was never a time in which we could "click" as a team in that final game to win. Sabetha, which was who received the first place title, was a very strong team. But, the moments that I remember the best were the ones I shared with my mother. The hug after we had won sub state was special, but I think the one at state was more. You are probably thinking, "A hug is a hug Elyse.." But, the hug after the final game of the day at state was emotional. I had tears falling off my face, and so did my mom. Blood, sweat, and tears went into that hug. Having my mother as a coach hasn't been all sunshine and rainbows. But, I wouldn't have changed that experience for the world. My mom is one of my best friends and it almost makes me tear up thinking about our moments we had together this past year.


I will end by saying that the stereotype of state being a moment you will never forget, is true. While we had to experience it through COVID, it was still special.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page